May 15, 2019


CONTACT: Donna Oracion, 575-624-7403






Two instructors at ENMU-Roswell have been selected to receive 2018-19 Kosa Merit Awards from the ENMU-Roswell Foundation. Respiratory Therapy program instructor, Mavis Williams, and Social Science Behavior instructor, Edna Yokum, were recognized during the Branch Community College Board meeting on May 15. ENMU-Roswell Foundation President, Steve Henderson and Eric Gomez, Faculty Senate President, presented the award to Williams. Yokum was unable to attend the meeting.


Long before the current campus complex existed, William and Ethel Kosa contributed a gift of $31,000 to Roswell Community College. Their generosity eventually led to the establishment of the ENMU-Roswell Foundation, a source of scholarships and funds for students and faculty. The Kosa Merit Award, instituted in 1970, ENMrecognizes two instructors each year for excellence in teaching and service to the institution. Chosen by their peers, the honorees receive an engraved plaque and a stipend of $300.


Williams worked as a Respiratory Therapist for more than 30 years before taking the job of Director of Clinical Education in the Respiratory Therapy Program at ENMU-Roswell. She accepted the position of Director of the Respiratory Therapy Program in July of 2016 following the retirement of her predecessor. “I have achieved several degrees in which my Master’s of Analytical Chemistry is my greatest accomplishment,” said Williams. “I hope that my presence in the Respiratory Therapy Program has made a difference in the lives of the students.”


Yokum moved to Roswell in 2016 from Tucson, Arizona, where she was pursuing her PhD in American Indian Studies with a concentration in Law and Policy. She earned her M.A. in American Indian Studies with an emphasis in History and Law from UCLA and her B.A. in Political Science and French, with an emphasis in American Politics and a minor in American Indian Studies, from Chapman University. She successfully completed the ESCALA Education, Inc. Certificate in College Teaching in 2017. On campus, she is a member of the Institutional Assessment Committee and the Program Review Committee.