March 28, 2017


Contact: Donna Oracion, 575-624-7403




Two instructors at Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell have been selected to receive 2017 Teaching Excellence Awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD).  Each year, instructors are asked to nominate one instructor to receive the award.  From these nominations, the Faculty Evaluation Committee selects two faculty members for national recognition.  This year, Yolanda Lopez, director and instructor for the  Occupational Therapy Assistant Program, and Ron Flury, instructor for the Computer Applications and Support Program, have been selected.

Lopez, Flury and other Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, May 27-30, in Austin, Texas. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration, held in conjunction with NISOD’s annual conference, each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon. The names, titles, and colleges of all Excellence Award recipients are included in a special booklet that features congratulatory ads from many of the recipients’ colleges. In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the Conference Program with a special icon.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We’re honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements.”