Curriculum Committee

2021-2022 Catalog October 21, 2020 3:00 p.m. OTC 124

Attendees: Jesse Davis (Chair), Edna Yokum, Romo Villegas, Griselda Aubert, Candi Miller-Morris, Christina Weir, Kim LaDuca, Ron Flury, Morgan Simmons (Secretary)

Absent:

Jesse Davis called the regularly scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Committee to order at 4:05 p.m.

Edna Yokum made a motion to add appointing a new committee member to the agenda under other business. Christina Weir seconded. The agenda as amended was approved by voice vote.

Edna Yokum made a motion to approve the minutes from the September 9, 2020 meeting. Romo Villegas seconded. The motion to approve the minutes as submitted was approved by voice vote.

Edna Yokum made a motion to strike approving the minutes from the October 7, 2020 meeting. Candi Miller-Morris seconded.

- The meeting of October 7 did not have a quorum

The motion to strike the item was approved by voice vote.

Edna Yokum made a motion to approve the new course SOCI 2325 Introduction to Native American Studies. Candi Miller-Morris seconded. The floor was opened for discussion.

- This adding of this course will not increase any degree plan or replace any existing course within a degree plan but rather be an added elective option.

The motion to approve the new course was approved by voice vote.

Christina Weir made a motion to approve Curriculum Committee Deadlines. Candi Miller-Morris seconded. The floor was opened for discussion.

- Need to send a note to AVPs and Area Directors to inform them of the limited due dates remaining on the calendar for submission of documents.

The motion to approve was approved by voice vote.

Ron Flury made a motion to approve the adding of a new committee member to replace Diane Klassen. Candi Miller-Morris seconded. The floor was opened for discussion.

- Romo Villegas, President of Faculty Senate, will send out an email requesting self nominations that are due by Wednesday. If no self nominations are made the AVPs will be contacted to recommend one individual from each unit. The nominee will be voted on and added to the next meeting scheduled November 4.

The motion to approve was approved by voice vote.

Edna Yokum made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Candi Miller-Morris seconded. The motion to adjourn was approved by voice vote. The curriculum committee meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jesse Davis, Chairman

Morgan Simmons, Secretary